WEverb12: Reflect And Renew – 1

This is an interesting thing – a website that is providing writing prompts throughout December. Now, this is probably not for everyone, but me, I’m stuck. I get so worn out with work, I don’t always have the energy to do the things that actually relax me, so I get more worn out with work, and have even less energy, and then I’m even more worn out…you get the picture. Having some external force reminding me of the things I enjoy doing, and more importantly, to do them, well, maybe that will allow me to relax a bit more, and maybe be less worn out.

I saw #WEverb mentioned on one of my friends’ blog, so I thought I’d give it a shot. It’s been a while since I’ve used writing prompts, but maybe that’s just what I need to really get me going again. I’m a bit late to the party – it’s already the 15th, so I have a bit to catch up on.

Let us begin:

Eden Park Overlook
Eden Park Overlook

Day 1: Write a Haiku for 2012

A haiku is a poem with three lines – two verses with five syllables and one with seven – that is traditionally about the natural world. This won’t be.

Struggling for cash
My health suffering greatly
I found security 

Pretty much sums it up. At the beginning of this year, I only had gas money because of the generosity of a friend, and a place to live because of the generosity of my family. Now, as the year closes, I have an income. It’s not a huge income, but I only have to support myself, so it’s enough.

Day 2: What movie did you see this year that you would recommend to a friend?

Well, many, actually. Once I was working regularly, but not the hours I work now, I saw a lot of movies. Ones I’d already seen, ones I owned, and ones I saw in the theaters. Nearly all of them I would recommend. I have recommended. I suppose Under the Tuscan Sun is my surprise recommendation. I don’t care for romantic comedies. It’s not my preferred genre at all. I had to be talked into seeing that one, and once I did, I was hooked. It is a romantic comedy, technically, but it’s nowhere near as vapid or predictable as the typical RomCom is. A woman finds out her marriage is ending from a catty writer who didn’t like her review of his work. Her friends give her their trip to the Tuscan countryside in Italy, and she meets a slew of interesting people, and has interesting adventures that are, on the whole, not beyond plausibility. I found the ending satisfying, and the movie enchanting enough that, if I’m not on my way out the door, or don’t have something else I planned to watch, I will watch it when it’s on the air, whether I caught it at the beginning or half an hour from the end.

Setting up at Balluminaria 2012
Setting up at Balluminaria 2012

Day 3: How did you stay in the moment this year?

This one is hard. I think because in most of my everyday life, I don’t stay in the moment. I think of the moments that have passed, and I think of the moments to come, but I don’t stay in the moment. Most humans do that, really. By the time we recognize a moment, realize its significance, it has passed, sometimes quite some time before. It’s not easy for anyone to do. The only time I’m really in the moment is when I have a camera in my hands. For instance, at Balluminaria last month, I wandered among the ballonists, while they were busy setting up. After a while, the park cops started cordoning off the crowd from the balloons, guiding those who didn’t belong in the area to other parts of the park. I lingered. I made an effort to look like I belonged, because I didn’t want to leave yet. I wasn’t ready. I had a few more shots I wanted to take, so I took them. I wasn’t really thinking about what would happen if someone challenged me, I was only thinking of the photos I had in mind, the moments I was trying to capture. I did leave the area eventually, after they’d already roped everyone else off, and I’d found my own space to stand. I got lucky there, too. I happened to be standing in a space where there were people who gave up their prime spots to me. I didn’t ask; they offered. I wasn’t so foolish as to refuse. I think I got some decent shots that night.

One more.

Day 4: What did you do in 2012 that you had never done before? Will you do it again?

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. What have I done that I had never done before? There has to be something. Well, I’m sure there were plenty of things, but they were effectively of little consequence, so I don’t remember them. I’ve been involved in political campaigns and activities in the past. Heck, I’ve been involved in protests at the city, state, and national levels. I’ve worked as a temporary employee before. I’ve babysat young children. I’ve taken pictures of random strangers, with and without their permission. I’ve written blogs, driven too fast, taken recommendations, asked questions I couldn’t answer. I’ve admitted when I was wrong, and fought for myself when I was right. I’ve been to movies alone and with friends, and I’ve even organized a gathering, although that one, well, it’s close to never before. I’ve even acted as a tourist in the city where I lived, because when I first moved to Colorado, well, I was a tourist. So what have I done this year that I’ve never done before? I bought a used cell phone. I started wearing bifocals. My astigmatism has always been horrible, so my adjustment period was pretty short. With severe astigmatism, there’s always a longer adjustment period for new glasses. This wasn’t really any different. There’s more – there has to be more. I just don’t know what it is.

Alright, since I’m so behind, one more.

Day 5: What community has engaged you most this year, and what did you get out of your participation?

I have two answers for this one, but only one I wish to share publicly. If I’m honest, the Facebook community I have created has engaged me most this year. What have I gotten out of it? So very much. I’ve had intelligent debates and stupid fun, I’ve met new friends and reconnected with many old ones. My birthday party this May, in fact, included people I hadn’t seen in a few years, up to 20 or more years. People I had known since college, since high school, were there, along with people I had known for a year or less. They didn’t know one another, for the most part, when they sat down, and that made me nervous. I was worried I would have to make this happen, make everyone get along and talk, and that is a role I do not relish. I was wrong. So wrong. It took maybe ten minutes before our little group sounded like they’d known each other for ages. It made me realize I know some pretty fantastic people, even if I’m *really* bad at keeping in touch.

Leave a Reply

