WeVerb12 – 2

My wild lifestyle seems to be catching up to me, all that working overtime and performing in my church choir and playing Civilization IV all day… I’m supposed to be at work in 5 minutes, but I’m not. I’m sitting at home instead, feeling a little dizzy and tingly, phlegmy and coughy. That’s generally a sign to me that something is attacking my immune system. Lucky for me, the immune system generally wins.

I meant to get back to this, to post more from the WeVerb12 project. Life got in the way. So, I will make up for lost time.

I didn't make it, but I did eat it. It was delicious.
I didn’t make it, but I did eat it. It was delicious.

Day 6: Cook (Live) – What was your best recipe/dish of the year?

Hmm. Well, I couldn’t do much cooking at the beginning of the year because my refrigerator didn’t work. It sorta did, I mean, it kept fruit from spoiling as quickly as it would on the counter, and the freezer worked okay. In the summer, I could use the top half of the freezer as a fridge, since it didn’t get cold enough to work as a freezer. The bottom half still froze food. Whatever I made had to be consumed in one sitting, since the fridge was basically a cooler that was warming up. Once I had a job, though, I got that fridge fixed. Yay, I could start cooking! Yeah, no. I was out of the habit. Aside from baby back pork ribs (garlic, onion, dill, basil, salt, 250* 3 – 4 hours depending on your oven), I stuck with my single-serve Stouffer’s. A little sad. So I guess my best dish of the year was the ribs. They’re tasty.

Day 7: Enliven (Grow) – Was there a book or article that inspired you to make a change in your life this year? What was the source and what did you change?

Not really, no. No one that stood out for me, anyway. I’ve read lots of articles, and before I was hired on permanently in August, I read a lot of books, fiction and non-fiction, recommendations from friends and popular books (couldn’t get through 50 Shades of Gray – yawn). But nothing particularly life-changing. I guess for the most part, I spent my year reading things I already knew, or already believed. That’s kinda sad to me.

Day 8: Respond (Listen) – Do you actively listen to your inner voice/conscience? Describe a time this year you heard and responded to it.

One thing I don’t like about this project – I can’t remember last week, let alone any other time this year. It has to be a BIG event to register in my memory. I remember my first day at my current job. I remember the day I was t-boned by a Ford F-350 (his fault). I remember the day I was laid off from my last permanent job. I remember the day my marriage ended – two days, really: the day I realized it was over, and the day we made it legal. I listen to my gut often. Not always – I try to ignore when my gut is desperate for an Entemann’s doughnut – but if I get an uncomfortable feeling, I listen. So I really can’t pick out an individual event. It’s as natural as breathing.

The bar behind me had wifi...and beer, apparently.
The bar behind me had wifi…and beer, apparently.

Day 9: Triumph (Create) – How were you challenged by a project or goal this year? What did you learn from it?

My goal this year was trying to stay cool this summer. Early on, I spent a lot of time in air conditioned locations. Because of the heat in my house – usually the same as, if not worse than, outside – I couldn’t go home to relax. I couldn’t sleep. My blood pressure was ridiculously high (caused by PKD), so that was impacting my health, and my body’s ability to regulate the temperature. I’d had issues with heat exhaustion multiple times in May and June alone. On July 4th, after a parade, I had actually stopped sweating. It was 100 degrees that day. Not good. I was working though, so I finally had some money. I bought an air conditioner. My project became figuring out how to run this window unit in a house with wiring from the 70s. I found a way; I made it as safe as I could. And I could sleep. I could retreat to my home when it got unbearably hot, instead of having to spend time at a mall.

So how was I challenged? I needed to find a way to stay cool, and safe. What did I learn from it? Humans can be very creative when they have to be.

Day 10: Lose (Hope) – Did you have to say goodbye to a person, or even a cherished object, this year? Take a moment to celebrate the memory

No one I knew personally, no. Not this year. I try not to worry too much about it. The people I love are getting older. The ones that are my age have reached the point where health, rather than stupidity, is more likely to kill us. And of course, there’s family, who are getting older too.

No, that’s not quite true. Friends’ parents are passing. A couple of them I’d known since I was little. It’s been 25 years since I talked to them, but it’s still a bit of my childhood fading. If I stay healthy, there’s a chance I could see my 90s – my father’s mother is 100, and my mother’s father was 95 when he passed. Meaning I probably need to get used to that.

Leave a Reply

