It Didn’t End

Well, here we are, 2013. The world was supposed to end on December 21st, but it didn’t. I know there are people who are disappointed, people who got rid of all their worldly possessions in preparation of a world-ending meteor or sudden nuclear war,  or a host of angels flying down and smoting to their hearts’ content.

So now what? Well, if you’re triskadekaphobic, you’re gonna have a rough time this year. Your dates, when written in full, will always end with 13, and both September and and December have a Friday the 13th, which could be bad if you’re a Templar Knight. Although, really, it’s only October 13 that’s bad for them.

On the other hand, if you’re a triskadekaphiliac, well, that’s a whole ‘nuther story. Lots of cool things with 2013 in store. The numbers in the year can be arranged to make a natural sequence (0123), for instance. Lots more at that website I linked. I mean, it’s not so good if you’re having an OCD moment, because it takes a while to get to 13 (not to make light; I’ve got a few compulsions myself. I’m just lucky enough that I can still function with them), but if you can handle it without obsessing, there’s lots of cool stuff in store for 2013.

Okay, look…last year, well, maybe it wasn’t so good for you. Overall, it was good for me. I started off the year living off the generosity of family and friends, and I’m ending it with paying my own bills, and finally replacing my point-and-shoot with a DSLR. It’s just a T3i, nothing spectacular, but what I can do with it, ah. Don’t get me wrong…I love my SX120. It takes excellent pictures. But I’ve done all I could with it. Now, I eagerly await spring, and the blooms of the magnolia trees, so I can really see what I can do.

What do I see for myself in this new year? Further growth, further change, further challenges. The challenges I’m not looking forward to – some of them are pretty big. But no matter what, it does help you appreciate the good more, when you deal with the bad.

 

So Happy New Year to you. May you find the joy in the small, the challenges that help you grow, and the beauty of the world around you.

One thought on “It Didn’t End

Leave a Reply

