Fun With Words

Reading posts from my friends on Facebook, I sometimes find interesting links and stories. I sometimes find fun things to do, or fun things to play with. I sometimes find things that are a little disturbing.

Writing analysis
I Write Like…

This one’s fun, I think. “I Write Like” is an engine that compares your writing sample to various famous authors, and tells you which one your writing most resembles. Since I’m sitting home sick today, and making weird typos like crazy (apparently, when I’m sick, I get dyslexic – probably am, anyway, based on some other problems I have with words), but I’m also bored and able to sit up for maybe an hour before I have to go lie back down, I figured I’d make a post all about that.

Isn’t that exciting? No? Oh. Sorry. I’m doing it anyway.

I don’t have many posts in this particular blog, so I’ve had to resort to using my previous blog on Blogger.

Cat Food and Tampons – this was the draft of a short story that I never finished. I mean to. I mean to do a lot more creative writing. But I have trouble maintaining a plot. Yes, I know all the tricks. They don’t seem to work for me. I think it’s more of a confidence thing than anything else. Yeah, I know a bit more now than I did in my teens and twenties. The title was a random suggestion from a friend, years ago. I hadn’t figured out how to work it in, so it’s really just a working title.

So…who does this remind the analyzer of?

I write like
H. P. Lovecraft

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Pretty cool, huh? Yeah, I was impressed. Made me think maybe I need to pull it back out and see if I can flesh it out a bit more.

Then there’s this short piece, about driving here in Cincinnati, The Right Lane is a Lie.

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Sweeeet! I actually got this same badge on a couple other posts I wrote, in that original blog and this one.

Okay, one more. I wrote a series on Love last September that I was a little proud of. So, I checked the first of the four posts, simply titled “Love,” and got this:

I write like
Gertrude Stein

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Seriously cool.

Alright, one more. This time, from this piece, “The Abyss,” about severe depression.

I write like
Margaret Atwood

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

Once again, sweeeet!

I tried a few others and got responses I didn’t like – “It Didn’t End” got Dan Brown, of “The DaVinci Code” (misdirected) fame – and a few that I just didn’t recognize, but it was still interesting to see how it all came out. And the analyzer is consistent; I checked all these a second time, and got the same responses. It’s not so random as I’d have thought. And, of course, I do realize this is just an analysis of writing style, not writing quality, but c’mon, a little ego stroke now and again isn’t so bad.

Leave a Reply

