I had an idea for this post. It was a good one. But I lost it. And I’m too wiped out from my week at work to think of another. So instead, I will show the things that amused me during this ridiculously exhausting week.

Someone gave him an orange peanut
Someone gave him an orange peanut

Some weeks ago, someone posted a Bad Lip Reading video. While it’s not high art, it’s still funny. There’s not a thing wrong with a bit of low-brow comedy now and again. There are a few Twilight videos, Hunger Games, presidential debates, and even the inauguration. I still haven’t decided how I feel about that; I find it funny, and slightly offensive.  The one that has gotten the most press lately, though, is this one. It doesn’t require much thought, and it’s amusing. And Adrian Peterson signed an orange peanut. As far as I’m concerned, that makes him cool. In the series of pictures on the source website, he looks like he’s familiar with the video, even though it’s only been out a little over a week.

The scary thing, though, is if it gets big enough, it will start showing up in movies and television shows. There will be reference made to it, to attract a younger, hipper audience, and in five years time, the references will make no sense whatsoever. It’s like old Looney Tunes cartoons. By the time I was watching them on Saturday mornings – you know, back when cartoon violence was still allowed on TV – there were some that made little sense to me until my mother explained the references. She didn’t explain all the references, of course. Bugs Bunny was never blue, per se, but it was meant to entertain children AND adults back in the day, and there were things she just wasn’t ready to explain.

Still, it’s pretty cool that he signed a large, orange peanut, inspired by a silly video.

Oh, and the creator of Bad Lip Reading is apparently also involved in Epic Rap Battles, which are also very popular. Snoop Dogg is in one. No, not someone pretending to be him, but someone who actually is Snoop Dogg. Or was he Snoop Lion by then? Does he even remember he did that? Whatever, his problem.

GWRB 04Y’know what? There’s more stuff. Plenty of things that entertained me this week. There were articles on Cracked.com, posts on Facebook, and a return to a site someone had shown me earlier that was great for just mindlessly killing time. I’d suggest leaving the option at Gravity Wells, and tethered. Magnetic repulsion is boring. Be sure to hit F11 to get a full screen. Sorry, doesn’t seem to work on mobile devices.

Basically, after this week, I needed diversions. I needed a lot of them. I did watch the inauguration, and I did rejoice. And if you didn’t, well, that’s your prerogative. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. It’d be a really boring and creatively, scientifically, economically, and socially stagnant world if we all thought the same all the time. Try not to let the tragedies and horrors of this world get you down. Just find something that will make you smile, and run with it.

Now I’m going to go hit F11 and play for a little bit.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

