February

February’s not my favorite month. The weather seems to take vengeance on the virus that is human during this month. It is Black History Month, which is pretty good, since it does encourage some people to go beyond their classroom history books. Unfortunately, it also brings out the revisionists.

Years ago, I wrote a series of articles for a Black History email at work. At the end of each week, there was a quiz, and a prize. Not much of a prize, but it was there. I actually got quite a few responses; sort of validation for writing, since people were actually reading what I wrote. I’ve put them all on my old blog at Blogger. If you’re interested, I’ve included a link to the first one at the bottom. I hope you are interested. I think they’re pretty good.

Okay, so we’ve established I don’t like February, and it’s Black History Month. So far, so good. I guess. I’m out of anything but minutiae right now. It’s been a long, painful week, and I just want to relax. Apparently, that also means my brain shuts down. All I can think about is my dental appointment on Thursday (gotta have a root canal for a broken tooth, but no new cavities), my choir performance next Sunday and how I really don’t know the music – all my sightreading skills are being honed by this one, and a prescription I need refilled. Honestly, I’m not feeling that great, in part because of a nice chronic thing I’ve got going on, but that’s for another day.

So…here are some pictures I took in Februarys. Or is that Februaries?

Self-portrait, February 2013
Self-portrait, February 2013
Watching the waterfowl at Eden Park
Watching the waterfowl at Eden Park February 2012

 

Chinese New Year in Colorado Springs February 2011
Chinese New Year in Colorado Springs February 2011

 

Creepy street art, Colorado Springs, February 2010
Creepy street art, Colorado Springs, February 2010

_______________________________

Not Just Black or White – this one I actually wrote long before the ones I wrote for work. It’s sort of loosely related.
Prolific Inventors – Focus on Lewis Lattimer. This is actually the first one I wrote for work. The one before this I lifted from a website.

Leave a Reply

