Peeking In

Another long break. I’ve had a bit going on. Some changes at work, job duties shifting, stress being added, but not hours. No, still gotta do everything within 8 hours. Yeah, I’m sorta going with the asking forgiveness instead of permission at this point. Got things to do, and not enough time to do them. I’m not abusing it, mind, not working an extra ten hours a week for nothing. But I am getting an hour or two, or three, extra. It’s exhausting. And I’ve reached the point where I think about certain files when I first wake up, or go to bed. Trying to stop doing that. That cuts into my relaxation time, and that’s really important to me. Without that, I burn out. Quickly. I’ve been here before, and I’ve gotten over it. One boss said a good processor dreams about files. No. A stressed, overworked, overwhelmed processor dreams about files. A good processor leaves it at work. Well, a sane one does, anyway.

A life well-lived
A life well-lived

My grandmother’s funeral was well-attended. Her church was able to accommodate our family. At least, those of us who were able to make it. We only took up about 7 or 8 pews. Very long pews. Twice the length of the pews in my church. We’d have taken up half the chapel if we’d had this at mine. Parking would have been just as difficult, too. A little simpler – we have two tiny parking lots, whereas her church has only one. It was interesting listening to my cousins and sister talk about her during the memorial. It was a grandmother I didn’t know. Well, by the time I came along, she was about to hit her sixties. She wasn’t doing much fishing or cooking or anything like that by then. When they were young, she was still living in her house. I think I remember going there once. After that, she was living in the senior apartments, where she stayed until she was 99. One year in a nursing home. Not bad. Especially at that age. She has an excellent location at Spring Grove cemetery. I have a few family members in there. Not all in the same place, though, and it’s huge, so I can’t begin to find them all. Hers, I’ll be able to find. It’s like a sculpture garden right there – not much in the way of trees or other foliage. In a place known for landscaping, it’s a little odd, actually. I did take a peek at the other headstones in there. She’s one of the longest-lived in there, but not by much.

I’m listening to the morning birds singing. I missed that when I was in Colorado. There were songbirds, of course, just not that many. Not that many trees, either, so that makes some sense. Right here, in my inner-city neighborhood, I’ve seen doves, robins, blue jays (jerks), finches, and cardinals. And those are just the ones I recognize. I don’t have a tree in my yard, or dangling over my car, thank goodness, but the yards around me do. I didn’t realize how much I missed that until I got back hear, and heard them. There’s only one right now. There will be more.

The news has been full of interesting things, including yet another argument that has cost people friends. Facebook turned red for a few days while the Supreme Court of the US (SCOTUS) heard a couple of cases that affected marriage equality. There are some strong feelings for and against. Personally, I’m for it. Why should we straight folk be the only ones who can be miserable with someone forever? Many think it’s unnatural, or disgusting. Many are afraid that it will mean their churches will be forced to accept gay couples, and to marry gay couples. Marriage is a civil institution. Holy Matrimony is a religious one. Many of the same arguments used against interracial marriage are being used against same-sex marriage. People fear what they don’t understand, and those who live their lives in fear will never understand anything outside of their own sphere of knowledge. There are still churches that will not accept an interracial couple, or marry them. That is their right. All that happened was interracial marriages had to be recognized by the government of every state. Regardless of your stance, a gay couple marrying will have no impact on straight marriage. It doesn’t mean we’ll be able to marry our dogs or homes – neither of those things are capable of giving consent. It just means couples who’ve been together, who’ve raised families together, have the same rights, regardless of whether the couple is the same or opposite genders. It’s okay to disagree. I will tell you right now, though, any comments spewing hate will not be approved. Disagreement, discussion, that’s fine. Keep the hate to yourselves.

Flying a kite at Ault Park
Flying a kite at Ault Park

I’ve had many things on my mind in the past few weeks, really. And I haven’t spent nearly enough time with my camera. I did go out yesterday, after being wooed and coerced. It was a friend who understands how easily one can become the victim of inertia. I needed to go out yesterday. It was a beautiful day. It was late enough, I missed much of the beautiful part, but I did go out. I did leave the house when I’d have been content to stay right where I was, in my bed, playing games on my iPad, and waiting for Doctor Who to start. Last night’s episode was meh to me. Struck an off chord in my plausibility meter near the end, there.

Opening Day is a big deal here in the home of the first professional sports team, deserving of the caps. A really big deal. There’s talk of making it an official holiday, much like Mardi Gras is for New Orleans. For over a century, the season didn’t begin until the first pitch here. Then that changed. Now we’re no longer the first game of the season, and some people are still upset about that, even though it happened almost twenty-five years ago. Mister Red HandlebarStill, people take off work, or take extra-long lunches, to watch the Opening Day parade, and the Opening Day game sells out every single time in a matter of hours, no matter how the Reds did the previous season. Incidentally, they did well last season. Starting well this season, too. Five games in, and we’re 3-2. It’s such a big deal, the Reds petitioned to get last year’s opening game moved. It was scheduled for Good Friday, and with our HUGE Catholic population, that was going to be a problem. Good Friday is a fasting day for Catholics. They would not have been able to partake of the many food vendors that come out for the festivities.  Plus, the mood would be all wrong for a celebration. It did get moved, thanks to a deal worked out with the Marlins. We don’t always get our way, but it’s nice when we do.

Time to get breakfast started. There are more birds singing outside, now that it’s starting to get lighter. It’s supposed to rain today. My sinuses tell me it will rain today. Sinuses in this city are very attuned to the seasons. Cincinnati Sinus is even almost considered its own affliction. People without sinus trouble will develop them here. Before I moved to Colorado, I was averaging 4-6 sinus infections a year. No, really. I moved to Colorado and I had one sinus infection within the first year of my moving out there, and nothing since. Now that I’ve moved back, I’ve been lucky so far; just a bit of congestion, no sinus infection – yet. I thought I had one a couple weeks ago. Turned out to just be a very nasty head cold. My voice has only just returned to normal, after ten days.

Before I go, I will leave you with this: The Bob & Tom Show, a radio show that is popular and not politically-correct – and probably not a good idea to listen to at work – broadcast from here on Opening Day. It was quite nice, actually. They explained to their audience what a big deal it really is here. On April 2nd, the day after Opening Day, they played an old routine – The First Baseball Game Ever Played. And, yeah, some of you may be offended by it. Me, I was dying, listening at work, unable to do anything until it was over. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

