Writing Prompt Wednesday 10/03/13

It’s been an interesting two weeks. Well, ‘interesting’ in the (alleged) Chinese Curse sort of way. Last week just got by me completely, and I’m not sure why. There’s a bit going on personally, some good, some bad. For instance, Monday, I discovered I am violently allergic to one of my friends’ perfume. The amount she wears is minimal, and doesn’t bother me unless I’m close. Spray a lot of it, and I can’t breathe. Not right away, of course, but within I wanna say 20 minutes. It was actually bad enough that I went home for the day. I tried to stick it out for an important department-wide call at 3, but I was getting dizzy from lack of oxygen. Figured I could either leave on my own, or be carried out. I didn’t have my iPad with me, and my Galaxy tablet wasn’t fully-charged, so spending time in an ER did not appeal…

2013-09-15 Emily Baby Shower 066a
To cheer myself up a bit: A blanket my father made for his future granddaughter. He’s good, isn’t he?

I also am looking at putting photographs on display. My brother was kind enough to check around and see who he knew in the arts community – after looking over my work and telling me what he thought (MAJOR confidence boost). Anyway, I’ve been in touch with the person who runs an art night at a local bar. I have to make some prints, and fast. I’m realizing how far behind I really am on my editing; I still haven’t completed my shots from Daytona over a month ago. Well, season’s change, days get shorter, and I lose energy.

That’s what I’m fighting right now, actually; bit of melancholy in my world, making it more difficult to function. I’m aware of it, making it a bit easier to watch and even head off the worst of it, but it seems life is conspiring against me. At least, that’s how it feels. That’s actually one of the bigger clues that I’m on the way down. How do I head it off? I force myself to go out, spend time with friends, even if I feel miserable. Especially if I feel miserable. I have friends who understand that and who don’t try to cheer me up, but they’re there, and their presence means more than anything at a time like that. Yes, I had to do the there/they’re/their thing. I wasn’t gonna, but I’d already used two of them, so…

Fountain Flare
Not from the Photowalk, but it is from the point-and-shoot I used.

This Saturday, for instance, is the Worldwide Scott Kelby Photowalk. I did this a few years ago when I was living in Colorado. I was the only one in the group with a point-and-shoot (albeit a good one), but I was out there for that very reason. I wanted to show what a point-and-shoot could do. Hubris, anyone? It was fun, and I learned a bit and tried new things. That’s what really mattered.

Oh well, back to the prompts. I had to choose another one – the one I first picked, I’d already used. I might revisit some of these anyway, just to get a feel for where my head is at different points in my life.

Prompt 321 – Amy Tidwell and Jason Engler meet on an airplane. One of them becomes resigned to his or her fate.

My attention span is non-existent, now. It’s just not there. There are sleep-deprived two-year-olds that can pay attention better. I think…well, it’s taken me a while to get this far, and I don’t seem to be able to progress any further. Closing in on two hours, now. I think it’s time to cut bait. I will save this prompt for another time. It’s supposed to be fun, not something I only do because I have to do it. Not tomorrow – I have choir rehearsal tomorrow, and before that, I have someone I’m helping to learn how to read music. Which reminds me – I need to put something together for that.

Leave a Reply

