Save It

It’s snowing again. Starting to feel like I’m in that hotel where Jack Nicholson and Shelly Duvall were trapped in that novel, that I can never read again. If nothing else, this is serving as a reminder of why I didn’t move to Chicago. They may be used to this, but I’m not. Not even after living in Colorado for a decade, no. I didn’t live in the mountains, so I didn’t have to deal with much snow. I did have to deal with snow in May and June, and if I went into the mountains, July, but not much.

Stanley Hotel Merge
The Stanley (merged) in Estes Park, Colorado

I’ve already written about winter’s crush, though, so I won’t do that again. I’ve also written about sunnier places, where I wish I were now, basking in the warmth, the sun kissing (and then burning, but whatever) my skin, my hair all fuzzy in the humidity. People complain about how hot it is, how they can’t wait until winter, but not me; no, I prefer the summer. Always have.

So I’m at a loss, now, about what to write. Things have happened in the world, interesting things and ridiculous things – where does Justin Bieber get off comparing himself to Michael Jackson? He’s as deluded as Kanye – and it snows. We’re getting all the snow that should have fallen in California. A good chunk of that state is going to burst into flame this year, and that is going to really suck.

I suppose there’s only one choice left – writing prompts.

Ault Park
Countdown to spring, my favorite season

Writing Prompt 64 – List 10 – 15 things worth saving, then choose one of those things and write about it

  1. Money
  2. Time
  3. Water
  4. Health
  5. Food
  6. Historic sites
  7. Archaeological finds
  8. Forests – temperate, rain
  9. Fauna we’ve endangered
  10. Flora we’ve endangered
  11. Union Terminal
  12. Original OTR architecture

I couldn’t think of anything to write, so I had to resort to the writing prompts. Sometimes that’s enough to get something started. Sometimes. This list was hard to write for some reason. There are plenty of things that need saving, but it’s not as black and white as it seems. For instance, saving your soul, that’s important for some, and a joke for others who don’t believe we have souls.

Saving life is a big one, a really big one, and even that isn’t so simple. First, you have to define life. Life is a being capable of breathing on its own, surviving on its own, or someone who can be brought to that state. Me personally, I support legal and safe (the two are not mutually exclusive) abortion. I also support sex education, and an emphasis on prevention through abstinence or birth control. I’d much rather see a woman not have to make that choice, or give birth to a baby than to see it terminated; no one is pro-abortion. Not anyone who values life, anyway. I know others believe in their hearts that this is murder, for whatever reason, usually religious. It’s a medical procedure that, depending on your view, does or does not result in a death. It’s a medical procedure that can save a life, too, either directly or indirectly. If the mother’s life is in danger, especially if the fetus is going to go with her, why would you want to make her suffer, knowing that not only is she going to die, but the child she was carrying will too? Then there’s the other end, death as punishment and assisted suicide. Both are, in the long run, choices, usually, but the death penalty is less-so, and sometimes it’s handed out unevenly.

Water Plus Boy
Water and a child. It had to happen.

This wasn’t supposed to turn into a controversial post. I try to keep this as peaceful as possible, saving my personal politics for relevant conversations. I’m not interested in changing someone’s mind. Well no, that’s not true, I am, but that’s not my purpose in sharing things like that; I provide information, and trust people to use their brains. Doesn’t mean they’ll agree with me. Nor do I necessarily want them to; I just want them to think. Changing a belief that is part of your being is hard. Really hard.

Even saving fauna (animals) is a tricky thing – evolution happens. Sometimes, an animal dies out because the niche it filled no longer exists. Sometimes, it dies out because of something we did. So how do we know, with some of the endangered species, if they’re dying out is our fault, or just evolution? Well, killing alligators and buffalo, elephants and tigers, wolves, that’s us, putting those animals on the endangered species list. With the buffalo, there’s the added benefit of them being able to interbreed with cattle, a creature that was introduced here by settlers. There are insects and animals that are dying out because rainforests are being destroyed. Bears and lions being killed because humans have continued to encroach on their land. That’s not all of them, of course, there really are species that have died out because they serve no more purpose. I’m baffled by pandas – they don’t seem particularly interested in continuing their species. They’re losing their environment, too, so that’s not helping.

08-18-2013 048a
Summer morning on the beach

There’s also the climate. The earth has gone through cycles since the beginning, sometimes trending toward warming, others toward cooling. These are normal and natural. Currently, the planet is in a transition where it is warming. How much of that, though, is the natural cycle, and how much of that is human intervention? That’s the real question. Those who hold up this current winter as evidence the globe isn’t on a warming trend should probably spend a little more time in a science class. Warmer air holds more moisture. Moisture, when it freezes, becomes sleet or snow, or my personal favorite, freezing rain. There’s also a matter of scale. From far away, a glacier looks smooth, almost flat; up close, it’s obviously not flat or smooth. Globally, the temperature is going up. Locally, there are good seasons and bad seasons, although the trend is still toward warming.

Once again, not intending to create controversy, it’s just what happens sometimes.

Well, it’s January, and it’s cold. Less cold than yesterday – we’re in the double digits! – but still cold. I’m wrapped up in my Snuggie (actually warm), a sweatshirt, a t-shirt, sweat pants and thermals. Oh, and socks and fuzzy slippers. And a hat. A pretty red one that looks like an elf hat, that my father made. And I’m watching Freaks and Geeks, so concentration isn’t the best right now. Incredible how nearly all of the main characters have had a career after this show. A big one.

Leave a Reply

