Care and Feeding

I woke up this morning and realized it had been two weeks since I last wrote. TWO WEEKS!!! That’s just unacceptable.

“Would a minute have mattered? No, probably not, although his young son appeared to have a very accurate internal clock. Possibly even 2 minutes would be okay. Three minutes, even. You could go to five minutes, perhaps. But that was just it. If you could go for five minutes, then you’d go to ten, then half an hour, a couple of hours…and not see your son all evening. So that was that. Six o’clock, prompt. Every day. Read to young Sam. No excuses. He’d promised himself that. No excuses. No excuses at all. Once you had a good excuse, you opened the door to bad excuses.” – Terry Pratchett, Thud 

A reminder of what I promised myself, and how that promise has gone by the wayside. The week of the 30th, I didn’t feel well, so I’ll let that one go; I’ve no idea why I didn’t write last weekend. The time got away from me, that much I do know. Beyond that, I’m not sure.

I’ve given this some thought while I wasn’t writing, usually at some time when I was supposed to be doing something else. Here we are in February, Black History Month in the US. I’ve written posts on famous and influential Black Americans throughout history, and how some of my own personal experiences relate. I don’t know that I plan to do that this time. My last post, oh so many days ago, already covered a very important event, the march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama, and the recent movie dramatizing the events.

Personality - ShitINTPsSay 02I’m a bit tapped out, though. I have an interview on Monday for a job I really want, one that I think will not be so difficult to do. Not that it’s not challenging, but I don’t think it’ll be as mentally and emotionally exhausting for me as my current job is. Interviews terrify me. I know I can do the job, what I have trouble with is explaining to someone that I can do the job. Fortunately, one of my friends who also happens to be a manager who does interviews, offered to do a couple practice interviews, a process that usually doesn’t do much, but this time, I think it did. Still stressed about it, though.

I managed to pay some bills this morning, a bit proud of that, and I have plans to catch up on Downton Abbey and rewatch How to Get Away with Murder, to catch the bits I missed. It’s sunny outside right now, bright blue sky; I should probably plan to go out with my camera. Go where, and when, I don’t know, but I need to. I also need to find someplace I haven’t been. It’s still winter out there, although it’s been a bit mild; there are bushes outside my workplace that are already sprouting new branches.

I’d planned to go with a personality post, hence the title, but in the course of research, I’ve been reminded why I do my best to write these before 10 am. I’m hungry, I’m getting cranky (that’s right, I get hangry), and I’m cold. I need to remember a time when it was green and warm. So… green and warm it is.

11-mile Spinney 008a
11-Mile reservoir, Lake George, Colorado
Pikes Peak 080b
Real Women Don’t Need Guardrails. Pikes Peak, Colorado
Untitled
Mid-Spring Magnolia, Eden Park, Cincinnati, Ohio
Water Plus Boy
Defiant. Smale Park, Cincinnati, Ohio
08-18-2013 048a
Greet the Morning, Daytona Beach, Florida

*sigh* There, I feel much better. Until next week.

Leave a Reply

